Marlins Make History in 11-2 Win Over Holly Springs

Marlins Make History in 11-2 Win Over Holly Springs

Morehead City, N.C.- It was a record breaking night for the Morehead City Marlins (34-13) as they roll past the Holly Spring Salamanders (17-30) 11-2. 

The scoring opened in the top of the third with an RBI sac fly from Jace Mercer (University of Cincinnati) followed by back to back base knocks from Hunter Shepard (Catawba College) and Daniel Little (University of Richmond) that brought home three more runs for the Marlins. The four spot tied the franchise record for runs in a season. 

Then in the next inning, Bryan Kowalski (Pfeiffer University) ripped a fastball into left field for his second hit of the night and to drive home Camden Williamson (North Carolina A&T) and break the franchise runs record. The scoring wasn't done for the inning though, Mercer added his second and third RBIs of the night with a single to right to make it a 7-0 Marlin lead. 

In the bottom of the fourth the Salamanders answered back with a pair of runs, but from there the Marlins starter Eric Miles (Presbyterian College) set 11 straight Holly Springs hitters down. 

Fast forward to the top of the seventh the Marlins added a pair of insurance runs to put Morehead City back up by seven. 

In the bottom half of the inning, Miles picked up his third strikeout of the night and more importantly, the 527th for Marlins pitching on the summer. That number marks the new all-time CPL single-season strikeouts record for a team, passing the 2015 Lexington County Blowfish. 

Tack on two more runs in the top of the ninth from Little and Zach Miller (University of Delaware) which brought the game to its 11-2 final. 

The win was the 34th on the year for Morehead City, tying a single-season best, and the first in a game finished at Holly Springs. 

Tomorrow night the Marlins play host to the Wilmington Sharks and look to set a new franchise record for wins, as well as, clinch the first place spot in the second half in the East Division. 

The gates at Big Rock Stadium open at 6:30 with first pitch set for 7:05 p.m.