2019 Morehead City Marlins Schedule Announced

2019 Morehead City Marlins Schedule Announced

MOREHEAD CITY, N.C. — The defending Coastal Plain League champion Morehead City Marlins have
announced their 2019 season schedule; the quest for their second consecutive league crown
begins on Thursday, May 30th at the Edenton Steamers.

The Marlins will kick off their 2019 home schedule at Big Rock Stadium on Friday, May 31st against the
Edenton Steamers. Opening night will feature a celebration of the 2018 championship season including
unveiling the championship banners and ring presentation.

Morehead City starts its East Division schedule on June 1st at Holly Springs after
sweeping both division halves last summer. The Marlins will meet the Salamanders of Holly Springs 10
times, split down the middle with five home and five away contests. Morehead City will take on the
Fayetteville SwampDogs 10 times as well, again split down the middle. The Wilmington Sharks host the
Marlins six times, while traveling to Big Rock Stadium eight different times.

Morehead City, who finished with a 2018 national ranking of fifth and a 2019 pre-summer rank of
third, will play 18 contests outside of the East Division. The Marlins will make the trip to Virginia to play
the Peninsula Pilots two times and will also host them twice. Edenton and Wilson make up the other
14 non-divisional games for the Marlins. The 2019 All-Star events will be held in Savannah, Georgia with
the hosts being Savannah's club, the Bananas. The dates for those events are scheduled for July 7-9.

Morehead City claimed its first Coastal Plain League Championship in August with a series sweep of the
Thomasville HiToms in front of a packed house at Big Rock Stadium. The Marlins finished their
championship season with a record of 38-14. The 38 wins were the most in franchise history.
The Petitt Cup Playoffs are set to begin on August 4th with the divisional rounds. Round two, the regional
round, is set for August 6th . The Championship series will be contested in a best-of-three series with the
top seed having home-field advantage, taking place August 8-10.

The Coastal Plain League is the nation's premier summer collegiate baseball league. Heading into its
23rd season in 2019, the CPL features 16 franchises playing in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina
and Virginia.  To date, the CPL has had over 1,450 alumni drafted and 118 alums – including 2017 ALCS
MVP, 2017 World Series champion, 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young award winner Justin Verlander, as well
as former Marlin and 2017 NLCS MVP Chris Taylor – make their Major League debut.  For more
information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at www.coastalplain.com, and
be sure to follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat @CPLBaseball.