Big Rock Stadium Hosting Region X, DII Baseball Tournament

Morehead City, N.C. – As the CPL season quickly approaches, Big Rock Stadium will see its fair share of collegiate baseball next week. The ‘Rock’ will host the Carolinas-Virginia Conference Region X, DII Baseball Tournament.

The event marks the first time Morehead City has ever hosted a collegiate baseball regional tournament. Eight teams will play for the right to advance to the NJCAA (National Junior College Athletic Association) Division II College World Series in Enid, OK. The Southeast District qualifying teams include Brunswick Community College, Catawba Valley Community College, College of The Albemarle, Lenoir Community College, Pasco Hernando Community College, Patrick Henry Community College, Southeastern Community College, and Surry Community College.

The Carolinas-Virginia Conference Region X, DII Baseball Tournament will be a double-elimination style tournament held over five days from May 13-17. During the first three days, four games can be seen on each day, with the championship game being held on May 17 at 7:00 p.m. The winner will advance to the NJCAA DII College World Series in Oklahoma that starts May 28th.

"This will be the biggest non-Marlins event at O’Neal Field at Big Rock Stadium to date," said Morehead City Marlins General Manager Christopher Marmo. “This is what we all envisioned from the start; a facility that can accommodate these types of baseball events. Hopefully, Morehead City will be a destination for additional regional tournaments in the future.”

Tournament passes can be purchased for $20 at the Big Rock Stadium ticket booth during the tournament. Single day passes are also available for $8 for ages 12 and over, while children 11-under are free. For additional information, please contact the Morehead City Marlins office at 252-269-9767.

The purpose of the NJCAA is to promote and foster junior college athletics on intersectional and national levels so that results will be consistent with the total educational program of its member colleges.